Please Note: Everything showing as available to buy is physically in stock in our UK warehouse and available for delivery!

Michael Hoppe & Tim Wheater - Romances (aka The Yearning)

Product Code: CD1305
Price: £13.99

Track Listing

1. Lillies On The Lake
2. Glass Idol...
3. Waltz Of Whispers
4. Indigo Sunset
5. Memories In Dark
6. Wing'd Slippers
7. Nocturnes And The Quarter Moon
8. Rendez-vous
9. Black Roses White Jade
10. Of Mask And Shadow
11. Distant Moment
12. Never Forgotten

Each romance is individually dedicated to the celebrated women featured in a remarkable series of photographs by the renowned photographer E.O. Hoppé (1878-1972).

Queen Elizabeth, The Queen Mother, Marlene Dietrich, Gladys Cooper, Princess White Deer, Marion Davies, Tamara Karsavina, Lil Dagover, Vita Sackville West, Recca West, Ellen Terry, Mary Pickford, Teddie Gerard.

The compositions are highly melodic and provided a vehicle for Tim Wheater's wonderful expressive playing. Finally, 'Romances' is a recording of great simplicity, where every note counts and nothing is held back. The emotion is everything. Michael Hoppé, living in Los Angeles, is a business-minded artist and an artistically-minded businessman.

For 15 years, Hoppé was a senior executive at a mayor record company and he is now a free lance consultant for many artists, record- and filmcompanies. And he is keyboarder and pianoplayer.

Hoppé composes very melodic works and his credo is, as Robert Schumann once said, 'All you need to do is remember a tune that no one else has thought of.'

Get Delivery Quote:


Sign up to our FREE newsletter for the latest news and product info straight to your inbox. Please add your email address here.

Your basket contains:0 items