Please Note: Everything showing as available to buy is physically in stock in our UK warehouse and available for delivery!
Simon Heather
Category: Mantra

The Power of Sanskrit Mantras

The Power of Sanskrit Mantras by Simon Heather

Sanskrit is one of the oldest languages in the world. The word Sanskrit means 'perfected' or 'refined'. The hymns of the ‘Rigveda’ have been chanted in Sanskrit for 4,000 years. Sanskrit is said to have a sacred origin and is described as ‘the language of the Gods’.

Vedic Philosophy states that the universe is composed of five great elements (bhutas); earth (prithivi), water (apas/jala), fire (tejas/agni), air (vayu) and ether (akasha). The human body is also made up of these five elements. Each element is subtler than the previous one. Each of the five elements serves a specific function within the body.

The Yogatattva Upanishad (slokas 83-101) describes the five lower chakras and says that each element is linked to a different chakra and a different sense organ. The Upanishad says that each chakra has an associated 'bija mantra' or 'seed sound' that is used to balance that chakra. (For more information on the 'bija mantras’ for the chakras please go to the articles pages on my website).

When we chant mantras in Sanskrit, we use five different tongue/mouth positions to create the sounds of the Sanskrit alphabet. When we use the different tongue/mouth positions it stimulates the five elements.

Chanting Sanskrit mantras affects our physical body and our subtle bodies. Each mantra has a different affect on us.

To read on follow this link:

Your basket contains:0 items