Ukraine Emergency: Disasters Emergency Appeal -  Donate Now
Simon Heather
Category: Sound Healing

The Healing Power of Music - Episode 3 (Aug 11)

What are Musical Scales?

A scale is a sequence of musical notes in an ascending or a descending order. They are organised into categories such as diatonic, major, minor, and others, with a specific group of notes thus being described as a C-major scale, D-minor scale.

Scales are typically listed from low to high. For instance, the increasing C major scale is C-D-E-F-G-A-B-[C], with the bracket indicating that the last note is an octave higher than the first note.

Scales may be described according to the intervals they contain: for example: diatonic, chromatic, whole tone or they may be described according by the number of different pitch classes they contain: -

Ditonic, tritonic, tetratonic scales having two, three or four tones - used in prehistoric music.

Pentatonic, hexatonic, heptatonic scales, having five, six, and seven tones - are most common.

Octatonic or eight tones - used in jazz and modern classical music.

One or more scales may be used in a composition, such as in Claude Debussy's composition L'Isle Joyeuse. 

You can now either purchase the book directly from from Simon on this link, or continue reading the Third Episode of the book using this link

Your basket contains:0 items